Spielen mit verschiedenen Tonarten / Playing with different clay bodies

These two vases were part of a clay-recycling project before my summer break, which means that I actually threw and altered them more than two months ago. But, alas, I wasn’t here to kick the kiln place people’s ass, and so it took them even longer than that to fire these pieces. Just over a week ago I finally got to add the last touch (the glaze on the inside). Thankfully.

What I did with these vases is different from any of my earlier projects because it involves two stoneware clay bodies: a white one as the base (the one that I actually threw the vases with), and a dark grey one that I turned into a slip and then brushed onto the outer surface of the pots. Once the vases were leatherhard, I scratched into the surface of both and cut the rim of one of the pots to create this kind of layered look. I think I like it. Definitely something to keep experimenting with…

Bauchige Vase Blattvase

4 thoughts on “Spielen mit verschiedenen Tonarten / Playing with different clay bodies

  1. Hi Lena, die Vasen sind superschön geworden!! Mir gefällt vor Allem der Kontrast von glänzenden, türkisen Lackierung und dem rauen, grauen Ton! Bitte mach mehr und ich reserviere die nächste Vase!
    Bussi, Lisi

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

