First kiln opening in Seto

The kiln’s been opened and this time there was some of my stuff in it. And because I’m excited about this and would much rather have you look at my pictures than read my words, I’m keeping it short this time.

Most of my stuff made it safely out of the kiln. Some minor cracks, some problems with my glazing technique. But in general, I am very happy with my first results. I have taken note of a few things I’d like to do differently tomorrow, which is when I’ll start glazing some new pots.

Getting to test out the glazes traditionally used in Seto and learning about how they interact with clay and heat is really interesting. To me, it’s like a very mysterious playground… but that might be because I don’t have a clue about chemistry… 

Vase. Ofuke.
Vase. Ofuke.
Tumblers thrown to gauge.
Tumblers thrown to gauge.
Tea cup. Shino Glaze.
Tea cup. Shino Glaze.
Teacup and shot glass. Ofuke.
Tea cup and shot glass. Ofuke.
Little bowls. Ofuke.
Little bowls. Ofuke.
Big tea cup. Woodash.
Big tea cup. Wood ash.
Big tea cup. Oribe.
Big tea cup. Oribe.
Big tea cup. Ofuke.
Big tea cup. Ofuke.
Rice bowl. Woodash.
Rice bowl. Wood ash.
Rice bowl. Shino.
Rice bowl. Shino.
Leave a Reply

