remembering what it felt like

“Lena, wie hat sich däs angfühlt, wo dus erschte Mal den Ton angriffn hasch?”
Die Frage überrumpelt mich. Ich hätte sie natürlich kommen sehen sollen. War sozusagen aufgelegt. Wenn ich einer Meute Volksschüler eine Kugel Ton in die Hand drücke und sie frage, wie sich das anfühlt… naja, dann könnte ich fast damit rechnen. Hab ich aber nicht. Und deshalb hab ich auch keine Antwort. Ich erinnere mich nicht mehr. Und im Stehgreif eine Geschichte erfinden will ich dann auch nicht.

Also red ich mich auf mein Alter raus; sag, dass das schon gaaaaaanz lange her ist, dass ich gar nicht mehr genau weiß, wann es war. Im Kindergarten? Bei einem Kindergeburtstag? Mich nicht erinnern zu können irritiert mich. Wie war das damals? Fand ich es, wie die Kinder in Theresas Klasse, auch ganz “angenehm” und “erfrischend” und “fein kühl”, ganz “wunderbar”? Oder störte es mich, wie schleimig Ton wird, wenn man zu viel Wasser zugibt. Hatte ich danach trockene Hände? Oder wollte ich, wie manche dieser Kinder, den Ton gar nicht recht abwaschen, weil “Lena, däs fühlt sich so angenehm an, i will mir jetz nit die Hände waschn.”

Theresas Klasse zu besuchen, um ihnen ein kleines bisschen über das Gestalten mit Ton zu erzählen und es dann auch gleich auszuprobieren, ist ein Highlight für mich. Es ist irre laut, die Kinder sind interessiert, ausgelassen, übermütig, aufgeweckt. Ich finde sie auch ganz “erfrischend”. Ununterbrochen stellen sie mir Fragen, wollen mehr wissen, mehr verstehen. “Warum?” und “Warum nicht?” fallen während der zwei Stunden unzählige Male. Ich sehe ihnen beim Drücken, Formen, Anritzen, Falten ausstreichen, Schlicker auftragen zu und bin ihnen dankbar dafür, dass sie mir helfen, mich zu erinnern: an die Verwunderung darüber, wie schnell Ton eintrocknet und hart wird; an die Begeisterung über die Freiheit zu gestalten; an die Frustration mit den eigenen Fingern und ihren motorischen Limitationen; an die Freude am Rollen, Schlagen, Klopfen, Drücken; an das erste Mal, als ich meinen eigenen Fingerabdruck im Ton sah.

Ich weiß inzwischen, dass ich nicht nur meine eigene Keramik machen, und irgendwann auch verkaufen will, sondern meine Freude am Arbeiten mit Ton auch unbedingt mit anderen teilen will. In meinem Kopf wachsen schon Pläne. Ich verbringe ganze Nachmittage damit, die Gewerbeordnung zu durchforsten. Kalkuliere Kosten. Skizziere die Umrisse eines Studios. Habe einen Namen für meine Keramikschule gefunden. Denke über ein Logo nach. Langsam ändert sich meine Vorstellung von der Zukunft. Ich drücke an ihr herum bis sie eine neue Form findet. Ziehe und schneide sie. Ritze und trage Schlicker auf, um Details dazuzufügen oder Änderungen vorzunehmen… Kaum zu glauben, was so eine Kugel Ton mit mir gemacht hat. Und das, obwohl ich mich nicht mehr erinnern kann wann das war, oder wie genau es sich damals anfühlte.

“Lena, when you first touched clay, what was that like?” What? The question catches me off guard. Really, I should have seen it coming. If you hand a ball of clay to primary school kids and then ask them what clay feels like to them, what do you expect? Predicting a similar question from their end isn’t rocket science. But for some reason it did not even occur to me. So there I am, trying to remember. But I can’t. I don’t. No idea what it felt like.

So I tell them I don’t know. I hide behind my ageg. I tell them that I am oooooooold. And that it has been sooooooo long that I could not possibly remember. They seem to agree. At least enough to stop asking. But it keeps bugging me. How did it feel when I first touched clay? When was that? In kindergarten? At a friend’s birthday party? At school? Did I, like the kids in the workshop, also think that it felt “awesome”, “refreshing”, really “nice”, or even “wonderful?” Or did it gross me out that clay becomes a little slimy when you add too much water to it. Did I go home with really really dry hands? Or did I think clay felt so good on my hands that “I would never wash it off again”?

I feel really fortunate to be working with this group of kids. My friend, their teacher, is sitting with them and working away at her own piece of work. It’s loud in the classroom. They are lively, curious, interested, cheeky. I also find them “refreshing”. They grill me on questions, about clay and about myself. There are so many “why’s” and “why not’s”. I watch them as they are taking all of the initial hurdles in leaps and bounds: they pinch, form, score, slip and attach fearlessly. And sometimes recklessly. I am grateful for their honest surprise at how quickly clay dries up and becomes hard; their frustration with their own limitations; their joy at making. They remind me of what it must have been like, of what it must have felt like to see my own fingerprint on clay for the first time.

These past few months have been full of important life lessons for me. And one of the things I have discovered about my love for working with clay is that I don’t just want to keep it to myself, but share it with other people. I have been making plans. Drafting studio blueprints. Thinking of a name for my own ceramics school. Reading up on small businesses, registered trades and legal requirements. Making calculations. Slowly but surely my plans for the future are changing and taking a new shape. I pinch at them, form them, score and slip to add more detail or make alterations…

Incredible, the journey that a ball of clay eventually sent me on. Even if I don’t remember when it first started or what it felt like then.

Pinching this longish ball of clay until it resembles a hedgehog.
Pinching this longish ball of clay until it resembles a hedgehog.
Muzzle, check. Eyes, check. Ready for the spines.
Muzzle, check. Eyes, check. Ready for the spines.
Getting down the basics. Scoring and slipping before attaching the spines.
Getting down the basics. Scoring and slipping before attaching the spines.
almost done attaching the spines
almost done attaching the spines
grandpa hedgehog
grandpa hedgehog

 

 

One thought on “remembering what it felt like

  1. Great questions! I remember being given clay to play with when about 6 by my mother’s cousin, a sculptor and artist, then around 19 or 20 at a school when my dad went to a meeting there. He blamed himself when at 30 I gave up a career as a psychologist to be a textile artist then a potter. But I think it was inevitable since mud pies at about 5 years old – creativity with clay and satisfaction with the results is such a wonderful connection between the primitive instincts and the modern world. It is elemental and addictive!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

